A.R.T./New York Celebrates Jeffrey Gural, Mia Katigbak, and J.T. Rogers at their 2019 Gala
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 12:00 AM


"A.R.T./New York goes beyond culture; it goes into education and life experience."

"They're really the voice of Off-Broadway and not-for-profit theatres."

"A.R.T./New York helps nonprofit theatre companies afford space."

"A.R.T./New York had a dream to provide their members with beautiful, state-of-the-art theatres that are on par with our Broadway companies and as I look around me, I have to say: 'Wow. I cannot wait to appear on these stages'. "
Daphne Rubin-Vega, TONY & DRAMA DESK Award-nominated ACTOR - RENT


NEW YORK CITY—The Alliance of Resident Theatres/NewYork (A.R.T./New York) will celebrate its 2019 Gala on Monday, June 3rd overlooking the Hudson River at Current Pier 59, Chelsea Piers. With over 40 years of service to over 410 member theatres, A.R.T./New York is excited to honor three theatre luminaries: Board Chairman and visionary philanthropist, Jeffrey Gural; award-winning actress, and advocate for Asian American Artists, Mia Katigbak; and Tony and Obie Award-winning playwright, J.T. Rogers. The evening will begin at 6:00 pm with custom cocktails and hors d'oeuvres on an open floor for artists, patrons, and some of New York's most beloved philanthropists to mingle. Dinner begins at 7:00 pm, featuring new and original musical performances commemorating the lives and work of the three honorees, directed by Laura Brandel with arrangements & lyrics by Timothy Huang. 

A.R.T./New York is especially thrilled to acknowledge this year’s honorees. As powerhouse individuals in the community, they have helped to shape the nonprofit theatre field by championing growth and inclusivity both on and off the stage. With excitement toward this momentous occasion, Executive Director Ginny Louloudes says, "New York City's nonprofit theatre community is a special one, led by some of the most dynamic, creative and passionate people I've ever met. What strikes me most about all of our honorees is that they are all great risk takers. They each are adept at thinking critically, taking calculated risks, and then matching it with their talent. Our community is stronger because these individuals were courageous enough to alter the trajectory of our field for the better, and by doing so, they have given far more than they have taken."


This year's honorees are:

Jeff Gural: Chairman and Principal of GFP Real Estate; long-standing supporter of numerous New York City cultural and social organizations, and A.R.T./New York board chair.

Mia Katigbak: Obie award-winning actor, and producing artistic director and co-founder of the National Asian American Theatre Company (NAATCO).

J.T. Rogers: Tony and Obie award-winning playwright, 2012 Guggenheim Fellow, and early Nancy Quinn fund recipient. 

Jeff Gural will be awarded the Kathy and Howard J. Aibel Award named in honor of our former A.R.T./New York board chair Howard Aibel; and Mia Katigback along with J.T. Rogers will receive the Abe L. Blinder Award, named in honor of our former A.R.T./New York board treasurer and chief fundraiser, Abe L. Blinder. Previous recipients of The Kathy and Howard J. Aibel award include Florence and Richard Fabricant, Eric Gural, Ed Jones, Tim Hartzell, Lisa Cliff Kurtz, Toshiko Mori, Steve Olson, Laure Pels, Gretchen Shugart, Ted Snowdon, and Claudia Wagner. Previous recipients of the Abe L. Blinder Award include Julia Levy, Lynn Nottage, S. Epatha Merkerson, Jessie Mueller, Andy Truschinki, Pam MacKinnon, Joe Grifasi, Susan Hilferty, Sigourney Weaver, Jim Simpson, Cherry Jones, Jerry Stiller, Anne Meara, and Andrew Lance.


A.R.T./New York is accepting press inquiries up until Friday, May 31st. Press interested in covering the Gala should fill out this form https://airtable.com/shrXQ2veYiYuEseMg.

Press Contact:
Nathalie Thomas | Media and Outreach Coordinator
[email protected]